Posted on

Green Grasshopper dominates CGS Sports

Green Grasshopper dominates CGS Sports


Green Grasshopper maintained their dominance in Canouan Government School Inter-House athletic sports meet held at the Canouan Playing Field on Thursday, March 22, 2012.{{more}} The champions amassed a total of 418 points, 6 points ahead of yellow sunflower (412), with red roses occupying the cellar position on 386 points.

Both Javorn Barnwell and Leon Mason of Rose house shared the victor ludorum title on 27 points, while Blessie Richardson of Sunflower was the victrix ludorum with 29 points. Sports day commenced with the march past of the three houses. Brief remarks were made by headteacher of the school Jacqueline Charles and area representative Terrence Ollivierre who stressed the importance of physical education and good sportsman ship. Mark Ollivierre, a local businessman, donated the championship trophy and a cake for the winning house. He also assisted with the provision of tents to house the athletes and officials, and supplied the food and drinks for yellow house and its supporters. The medals were donated by Bertina Sandy, retired headteacher of the school. She also donated two trophies for the past students’ invitational race which was one of the featured events. This race was won by Keron Patrick and Shanique Pompey.

In the five-year-old age category, the top male performer was Thai Williams of Grasshopper with 15 points, while Joedana Francis, also of Grasshopper, was the top female performer with 19 points.

In the six to seven year age category, the top boy was Fabio Davis of Sunflower with 23 points. Laurel Shallow, also of Sunflower, was the female performer with 26 points.

Leon Mason of Rose was the top male performer in the the 8-9 year age category with 27 points, while in that category, Nea Prince of Grasshopper was top female performer with 19 points. In the 10-12 year category, Javorn Barnwell of Rose was the top boy with 27 points, while Blessie Richardson of Sunflower was the top girl with 29 points.

The Headteacher, Staff and students of the School thank all who contributed in one way or the other.