Posted on

Three Vincentians on Windwards One Day Squad


Three Vincentians have made it to the Windwards team to take part in the West Indies President’s Cup One Day Competition which will be played in Guyana from October 28 to November 5.{{more}}

The Vincentian trio are opening batsman Miles Bascombe, middle order batsman Donwell Hector and left arm medium fast bowler Deighton Butler.

No space has been found for the consistent left arm Vincentian medium pacer Kenroy Peters.

Axed is wicketkeeper Linden James. The Vincentian wicketkeeper lost his place following a string of under par performances. He also missed some matches earlier this year after being dropped from the Windwards team in the regional four day competition.

The Windwards will be led by St. Lucian Darren Sammy, who replaces long standing Captain Rawl Lewis. However, Lewis is still as part of the 14-member squad.

Returning is St. Lucian batsman Craig Emmanuel and his countryman all rounder Gairy Mathurin.

The only new face is Dominican opener Tyrone Theophille. The right handed batsman has showed great promise in the just concluded Windwards One Day Tournament and has scored a century in the two day version.

The rest of the squad includes Grenadians Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher and Nellon Pascal. Smith and Fletcher recently represented the West Indies in the ICC Champions Trophy in South Africa last month.

Pascal also got a play against Bangladesh last July in Dominica, when that country engaged the West Indies in the One Day series.

Medium fast bowler Mervyn Matthew, off spinner Shane Shillingford, and utility player Liam Sebastian, all Dominicans, complete the Windwards hopefuls. Matthew Shillingford and Sebastian have represented the West Indies at the Under-19 level in ICC Youth World Cup. Matthew and Sebastian were part of the 2004 regional Under-19 team, with Shillingford making the cut two years prior.

Vincentian Ian Allen is the team’s Coach, with Dominican Lockhart Sebastian, Manager.

The Windwards is drawn in Group A, along with Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) and opens their campaign next Wednesday against the CCC at the Everest Ground.

The Windwards meets Trinidad and Tobago, October 30, and Jamaica the following day. The other group has Barbados, the Leewards, The West Indies Under-19 team and host Guyana competing.

Two teams from each of the groups advance to the semi finals. (RT)