Posted on

Franklyn masters another century


Orville Franklyn hit his second century for the season when he belted 147 last weekend versus Layou Masters in the National Masters Cricket Competition.{{more}}

Franklyn lashed 10 sixes and 16 fours in an innings of belligerence. Ellsworth Williams contributed 27.

Former national footballer Percival Samuel captured 2 for 31. Layou Masters was bowled out for 107, with Reynold Hamilton making 39 and Osbert Young, 21.

Brian Jocelyn grabbed 4 for 24, and there were two wickets each for Kenneth Lewis and Charles Burke.

Sion Hill Masters defeated Tropical Shipping Stubbs Masters by six wickets to send the 2008 champions fighting to make it to the next phase.

Stubbs Masters batted first and made 116 all out. Dawnley Joseph, a former SVG, Windwards and West Indies A team opening batsman, topscored with 35. Christopher Campbell made 29. Joe Horne captured 4 for 32.

Sion Hill Masters replied with 119 for 4. Former St. Vincent and the Grenadines left handed middle order batsman Sylvester Vanloo hit 41 and Augustine Victory, another SVG right handed middle order batsman, chipped in with 29.

Police Masters defeated Ajuba Masters by also six wickets. Ajuba Masters scored 112 for 6 off 20 overs.

Walliston Stapleton topped their batting with 53. Gregory Franklyn took 2 for 32. Police Masters responded with 114 for 4. Former SVG and Windwards batsman Gosnel Cupid struck 60. Reginald Jeffrey captured 2 for 23

And, Log Enterprises Kingstown Masters humbled Barrouallie Masters by nine wickets

Barrouallie Masters 55 for 8 off 20 overs. Cornelius Springer took 3 for 5, and Hollis John, 2 for 13. Log Enterprises Kingstown Masters reached 56 for 1.Ancil Hooper made 36 not out.

Following last weekend’s matches, three teams are locked on twelve points in Zone A. Belfongo, P’Tani Masters and London Masters are the three outfits. However, Belfongo has played three matches, to P’tani’s and London’s five. Stubbs is lingering in fourth position with eight points from four matches.

Zone B sees Kingstown as run away leaders with twenty points from their five matches. Police are second with sixteen points from five matches, while North Leeward is on twelve points also from five matches and Ajuba Masters ten points from five matches. (RT)