Posted on

ECHMB to host Annual ‘Home Ownership Day’



The Eastern Caribbean Home Mortgage Bank (ECHMB) will host its 9th Annual “Home Ownership Day” Event on Saturday, July 26, 2008, at the Methodist Conference Centre, Grenville Street, Kingstown, St. Vincent.{{more}}

According to the Manager, Research and Marketing, Dennis S .M. Cornwall, “Home Ownership Day Event is intended to provide prospective borrowers with information and inspiration necessary to achieve their dream of owning a home”.

Dr Ralph Gonsalves, Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines will deliver the Feature Address at the Opening Ceremony for “Home Ownership Day”. Other resource persons who are expected to lead the discussions at the Seminar include: Shelford Stowe, of the Physical Planning Unit, St. Vincent and The Grenadines; Cerlian Russell, of National Commercial Bank (SVG) Ltd; Samuel Commissiong , Attorney- at- Law, St. Vincent and The Grenadines; Victor Williams, Architect, Williams & Architectural, St. Kitts; Christopher Browne, Valuator, Inland Revenue Department, St. Vincent and The Grenadines; Duleep Cheddie, Chief Executive Officer, ECHMB; Dennis S. M. Cornwall, Manager, Research and Marketing, ECHMB.

The “Home Ownership Day” Event is expected to bring together about 200 prospective homeowners in a discussion forum. It is aimed at assisting borrowers in making the correct decisions and helping them to get a better understanding of the practices of the mortgage industry and the institutions that provide services to the industry, especially lenders and builders. “Home Ownership Day” is expected to provide the information necessary to help take the stress out of borrowing and the construction of one’s home.

This Event in St. Vincent and the Grenadines is the ninth Home Ownership Day Event mounted by the Eastern Caribbean Home Mortgage Bank. The other Events were held in Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis and St. Lucia. The Bank intends to bring “Home Ownership Day” Event to Citizens in all eight Countries within the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union.